

100 High Street #07-01 The Treasury Singapore 179434 www.psd.gov.sg

Press Release

Public Service Leaders from Singapore and Australia to Exchange Views on Public Sector Challenges

Inaugural Australia-Singapore Public Service Roundtable Kicks Off in Singapore

The inaugural Australia-Singapore Public Service Roundtable will be held in Singapore from 19 to 20 July 2011. For the first time, public service leaders from Singapore and Australia will meet to exchange perspectives and insights on key public sector challenges facing both countries.

The Roundtable discussion will centre around the themes of enhancing public service delivery and developing public sector capability. Both sides will exchange views on issues such as building a networked government through better inter-agency collaboration, citizen centricity in delivering services, grooming and developing future public sector leaders and efforts to enhance public engagement and consultation.

The 10-member Australian delegation is led by Mr Terry Moran, Secretary of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet. Mr Peter Ong, Head of the Singapore Civil Service will lead the 10-member Singapore delegation. The delegation list is attached.

"This inaugural Australia-Singapore Public Service Roundtable serves as a good platform for Singapore and Australia to discuss challenges and share experiences in delivering public services and developing capabilities in the public sector. The exchange of ideas and views will help us appreciate different perspectives and learn from each other. Through this meeting, we also hope to foster closer collaboration between the two Services," says Mr Peter Ong, Head, Civil Service.

"I am proud to lead this delegation of some of Australia's most senior public servants to meet with our Singapore counterparts, and look forward to discussing a number of matters of shared interest. The Australia-Singapore Public Service Roundtable offers leaders from our two very effective public services an opportunity to exchange views and learn from one another, and I very much appreciate Singapore's hosting of this inaugural event. I look forward to strengthening further the already close bonds between our two public services, and continuing to work closely with our Singapore colleagues across all areas of Government" said Mr Terry Moran AO, Secretary of the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet.

The Australian delegation will also call on Deputy Prime Minister, Coordinating Minister for National Security, Minister in charge of Civil Service and Minister for Home Affairs, Mr Teo Chee Hean.

As part of the programme, the Australian delegation will also be visiting the Urban Redevelopment Authority for an overview of Singapore's urban planning blueprint and Singapore's efforts in planning and implementing sustainable urban development. They will also visit the Marina Barrage to learn about Singapore's experience in water management.

Issued by: Public Service Division

Prime Minister's Office

Date: 18 July 2011

Contact: Yvonne Chung

Manager

Communications and International Relations

Tel: 9229 4065

Email: yvonne_chung@psd.gov.sg

List of delegates for Australia-Singapore Public Service Roundtable

Singapore

Mr Peter Ong

Head of Civil Service

Mr Chiang Chie Foo

Permanent Secretary Ministry of Defence

Ms Lim Soo Hoon

Permanent Secretary Public Service Division Prime Minister's Office

Mr Tan Tee How

Permanent Secretary Ministry of National Development

Ms Chan Lai Fung

Permanent Secretary (Finance/Performance) Ministry of Finance

Mr Chan Yeng Kit

Permanent Secretary Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts

LG (NS) Desmond Kuek

Permanent Secretary
Ministry of the Environment and Water Resources

Mrs Ow Foong Pheng

Second Permanent Secretary Ministry of Trade & Industry

Mr Chan Heng Kee

Permanent Secretary
Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports

Mr Lionel Yeo

Dean and Chief Executive Officer, Civil Service College Singapore

Australia

Mr Terry Moran AO

Secretary

Department of the Prime Minister & Cabinet

Mr David Tune PSM

Secretary

Department of Finance & Deregulation

Dr Ian Watt AO

Secretary, Department of Defence

Mr Peter Harris

Secretary

Department of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy

Mr Drew Clarke PSM

Secretary

Department of Resources, Energy & Tourism

Ms Glenys Beauchamp PSM

Secretary

Department of Regional Australia, Regional Development and Local Government

Dr Paul Grimes

Secretary

Department of Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities

Ms Kathryn Campbell CSC

Secretary

Department of Human Services

Mr Stephen Sedgwick

Australian Public Service Commissioner

HE Doug Chester

High Commissioner to Singapore