Permanent Secretary Appointments - 18 September 2020

18 September 2020

The following Permanent Secretary appointments will take effect from 19 October 2020:

New Permanent Secretary Appointment

Mr Chia Der Jiun, Deputy Managing Director (Corporate Development), Monetary Authority of Singapore will be appointed Second Permanent Secretary (Manpower).

Change in Permanent Secretary Appointments

Ms Lai Wei Lin will be appointed Permanent Secretary (Law) while continuing concurrently as Second Permanent Secretary (Education).  Mr Loh Khum Yean will relinquish his concurrent appointment as Permanent Secretary (Law) and continue as Permanent Secretary (Public Service Division).


Mr Chia Der Jiun (谢 啇 真)

Mr Chia, 49, joined the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) in 2004. He held various management appointments in MAS covering Prudential Policy, Macroeconomic Surveillance, Banking Supervision, Markets and Investment, Corporate Services, Human Resources and Information Technology. He also served for 2 years as Executive Director for Southeast Asia at the International Monetary Fund. Mr Chia was appointed Deputy Managing Director (Corporate Development) MAS in May 2019. Prior to MAS, Mr Chia was in the Administrative Service for 10 years and served in the Ministry of Trade and Industry, Public Service Division and Ministry of the Environment and Water Resources.

Ms Lai Wei Lin (赖 慧 玲)

Ms Lai Wei Lin, 44, held various appointments in the Ministry of Trade and Industry, Ministry of National Development, Civil Service College and Ministry of Health, before her appointment as Deputy Secretary (Policy), Ministry of Health in 2015. She was appointed Deputy Secretary (Policy), Ministry of Education in 2017 and has been Second Permanent Secretary (Education) since 2019.